John Levin
Feb 6, 2021

--

Thanks, Stacy - I had never heard of acedia before, but, yes, in relation to this past extended year of covid, I relate entirely. So many many people will always be different than they were before, even after the pandemic is long gone. The lucky ones will have a sadness, the memory of the stir craziness that I now know is called acedia.

Those who have had to continue working, whether at groceries or meat packing plants or wherever, those who still have to ride public transportation, not knowing if that will be the day they're exposed, will not have the luxury of having had acedia. Perhaps they'll have recurrent nightmares for years.

Acedia, though: The Catholic Church invented a kind of boredom torture for monks and nuns, and then made the poor people into sinners for reacting to it. What a crazy world.

--

--

John Levin

Scientist. Writer. Meditator. Blue Tantrika. Mystical Rabbi. Climate & Human Rights Activist. I’m a man of few words, except when I open my mouth.