John Levin
Apr 4, 2021

--

One time Gautam Buddha decided to be a bee. He liked the idea because it was funny in English, even though English didn’t even exist in 500 BC. To Buddha’s Mind, that made it even funnier.

He had heard that Chuang Tsu had dreamt he was a butterfly, so he wanted to try it, too. The amazing thing about bees, he discovered, was their sense of smell, those huge eyes that see a 3D world, and their driven sense of purpose, which is not unlike what humans feel in sex (or love.)

The next day he told his bhikkus about it. It’s in some sutra, but I forget which one.

Thanks for the poem! I really enjoyed it.

--

--

John Levin

Scientist. Writer. Meditator. Blue Tantrika. Mystical Rabbi. Climate & Human Rights Activist. I’m a man of few words, except when I open my mouth.