John Levin
1 min readMar 29, 2024

--

My professor in a graduate course on the history of programming languages I took had an observation which has always stuck with me: Every conceptual advance in programming tools has always brought the ability to write software to a larger group of people.

Perhaps I'm getting ahead of myself here, but just imagine 6th grade science fair in a few years. Of course, all of us are rightly worried about misinformation etc etc etc! - But, in my view anyway, AI is a higher level thought process calculator. That's a nice phrase, a Thought Process Calculator. Until now, no one was paying particular attention to AIs: If I'm an astrophysicist, say, and I'm using a neural network to pull some details from a huge data source about galactic behavior, trying to figure out more about dark energy or the purported dark matter, then no one was getting scared about Skynet.

But if you add in the Generative, well, here we go!

--

--

John Levin

Scientist. Writer. Meditator. Blue Tantrika. Mystical Rabbi. Climate & Human Rights Activist. I’m a man of few words, except when I open my mouth.