John Levin
Jan 19, 2021

--

In my less optimistic moments, I like to think about where our human brains, thoughtwise, come from. The roots of primate intelligence (in my view) come from solving difficult, but limited, math problems, i.e., jumping from one tree branch to another without falling to ones death.

It makes sense that that mastery of complexity could eventually lead to tool making, language, Shakespeare, and the Scientific Method, but, especially as per solving Climate Change, it is a hindrance because we only tend to focus on THAT VERY NEXT THING only.

Now that the effects of Climate Change are becoming apparent to all, perhaps the position of that branch is becoming apparent, also.

We just need to jump.

--

--

John Levin

Scientist. Writer. Meditator. Blue Tantrika. Mystical Rabbi. Climate & Human Rights Activist. I’m a man of few words, except when I open my mouth.