John Levin
1 min readFeb 16, 2021

--

I used to go to a weekly science fiction writers' group. It was kind of a big thing, put on by an actual sci-fi magazine that was published locally. We met in our own room at a local Italian restaurant, with kids running around with heaping plates of spaghetti , and with the necessary salad bar in the center of it all.

One of the writers had scored it big, and had a gig writing Batman stories. One week someone read a story that actually had the line "Boing Boing Boing."

I don't remember a single other thing about it.

I actually worked very hard and wrote a 40 page typed novella, photocopied at some expense (It was the 1990's.)

The group's comments were, essentially, that there was too much science in it.

They were incorrect about that part, but I also knew it was quite ungood because I didn't have the foggiest notion about how to write decent dialog.

Perhaps I'm better now.

--

--

John Levin

Scientist. Writer. Meditator. Blue Tantrika. Mystical Rabbi. Climate & Human Rights Activist. I’m a man of few words, except when I open my mouth.