John Levin
1 min readNov 24, 2020

--

I haven't done any serious coding in a long time, but yet ... my sense of evolution in programming centers on the evolution of complex data objects. TY for ancient Fortran and the invention of functions and procedures. TY to Smalltalk for Objects: Functions now have STATE. Where are we going now? Although I don't actually work with languages anymore, I am guessing at 2 important needs to incorporate data needs (and possibilities) into complex data objects

1) Network state

2) Machine Learning/Neural Network shit (Apple's ARM chips also have multicore Neural Engines onboard - and that is cool.)

Oh, for the days of tinkering with my 4-bit 8080! I could really understand what I was doing!

But it's OK. Somewhere in the dark recesses of my dreams, (((((LISP))))) still is. And should be.

--

--

John Levin

Scientist. Writer. Meditator. Blue Tantrika. Mystical Rabbi. Climate & Human Rights Activist. I’m a man of few words, except when I open my mouth.