John Levin
1 min readDec 13, 2020

--

Hmmm - you got me to thinking. Writing for me is as effortless as speaking. I completely understand how writing can be not so that way, but then, it is possible for it to be otherwise.

If you think about it, speech is effortless, and we are also wired to express things with our hands. In fact, as I'm sure you know, people do speak complete languages with their hands and bodies only.

So it makes sense that we can establish a superconducting conduit between speech and hands.

Therefore the effortlessness of writing (which can exist) may be attached to the lack of repression you have (or haven't) given to your inner being.

But there's one more little twist: One can certainly be a conduit for the blackest of trauma, but that, too, is not really "effortless" because trauma always hurts like hell if we choose to let it out.

There's another way, and this is a bit subtle. If you learn how to experience a feedback loop which exists between you and the Universe (what Eastern type meditators refer to as "the Witness," then, voila!, that effortlessness happens.

Interesting. I hadn't exactly thought about it before.

Thx! (but I'm embarrassed. I have no idea what Verlyn Kinkenborg's book is about. I'm just a hopeless digresser.)

--

--

John Levin

Scientist. Writer. Meditator. Blue Tantrika. Mystical Rabbi. Climate & Human Rights Activist. I’m a man of few words, except when I open my mouth.