John Levin
2 min readApr 4, 2021

--

Hi Upasana! One of the fun things about writing is (are) the connections people make that you were not aware were in the piece - and, yet, are. Neat.

Yes, that's so cool, that we can go anywhere in fantasy, yet bind ourselves to so much misery in our consensual agreement of what's possible in the "real" world.

Why is the world so often so miserable, with such meanness and exploitation of people, and even those at the top operate under so much pressure and are only wired to end up with heart attacks, strokes, maybe suicide from the unnatural pressure of subduing all the people underneath them?

We create the rules of misery in a way just the same as somebody writing a movie script. That is a POWERFUL insight. And then people are left with what I call "emotional packages" of unhappiness and tears, which then go on to self-perpetuate the unhappiness that people feel so trapped in.

"Meditation," in the sense that I use it, is emotionally tunneling IN until you find this thing I call the Emptiness, and which every enlightened person has her or his own name for ... There's a Medieval English (anonymous) supposedly a monk, but I think she was a woman, who called it "The Cloud of Unknowing." But she is finding words for exactly the same part of this Existence that I, in my scientific awareness, posit as the space where Universes come from, and therefore, not just a philosophical, psychological, or moral space, but an aspect hiding inside the apparent world of misery and unhappiness which is actually real.

Anyway, who cares about sentence structure!

Happy Sunday, Upasana! I'm glad you enjoyed my little attempts at rhyming - and go and look at the original Renoir painting. There's one and only one blank space in the crowd.

Obviously, it was waiting for Bruce Lee!

--

--

John Levin

Scientist. Writer. Meditator. Blue Tantrika. Mystical Rabbi. Climate & Human Rights Activist. I’m a man of few words, except when I open my mouth.